

"This year, we've been able to expand the Champions program in number and scope," said Finn, who also helps run CCN's Vermont-based academic-news partnership. "The best way to grow these programs is to support the people behind them."

Learn more about why enterprising faculty and staff like these are so critical to engaging the next generation of journalists and civic leaders—and how universities are stepping up to forge a sustainable future for local news at https://www.uvm.edu/ccn.

## 2025 CCN Champions

Aje-Ori Agbese, Associate Professor, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

**Barbara Alfano**, Director of First-Year Forum, Faculty in Cultural Studies and Languages, Bennington College

J.D. Allen, Lecturer/Climate Communication Specialist, Stony Brook University

David Blow, Professor of Communications, Vermont State University Castleton

Pete Booker, General Manager, Delaware Public Media

Michael Braga, Professor of Practice, Texas Tech

Rick Brewer, News Director, WCMU Public Radio, Central Michigan University

Asia Burnett, Station Manager, WKMS, Murray State University

Lisa Collins, Professor of Practice, Loyola University New Orleans

Thomas Conner, Visiting Assistant Professor of Media Studies, University of Tulsa

**Emily Hughes Corio**, Associate Director, Reed School of Media & Communications, West Virginia University

Thomas F. Corrigan, Professor, California State University, San Bernardino

## University of Vermont

Ken J. Ward,