

October 9, 2023

For Immediate Release: Contact: Richard Watts

rwatts@uvm.edu 802-373-1131

Inaugural Group of Statehouse Faculty Champions Announced

19 academics in 18 states awarded for their leadership of student statehouse reporting programs

BURLINGTON, Vt. — The Center for Community News at UVM announced on Monday its first cohort of Statehouse Faculty Champions. The awards go to 19 academics in 18 states who are leading student reporting programs that focus on state governance, legislation, and politics. The honor, which comes with a \$1,000 award, is a priority program for CCN in its efforts to help build a sustainable future for local news around the country.

"As statehouse beats become increasingly rare, partnerships with college reporting programs can be a news lifeline for underserved regions," said CCN Director Richard Watts. "The dedicated faculty who are running these programs are creating a sustainable pipeline of critical information in their communities. We are thrilled to amplify their work and inspire others to jump

The 2023 CCN Statehouse Reporting Faculty Champions are:

Paola Banchero, University of Alaska Anchorage - Anchorage, Ak Dodie Cantrell-Bickley, University of Georgia - Athens, Ga Janice Marie Collins, Ohio University - Athens, Oh Michael Cripps, University of New England - Biddeford, Me Laura Cullen Glasscock, Kentucky State University - Frankfort, Ky Gwyneth Doland, University of New Mexico - Albuquerque, Nm Jennifer Duck Brown, Belmont University - Nashville, Tn Deborah Howlett, Rutgers University - New Brunswick, Nj Patrick R. Johnson, Marquette University - Milwaukee, Wi Nancy Karibjanian, University of Delaware - Newark, De Matthew Laplante, Utah State University - Logan, Ut Pate Mcmichael, University of Arizona - Tucson, Az Laura Moorhead, San Francisco State University - San Francisco, Ca Marisa Porto, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, No. Beth Potter, University of Colorado, Boulder - Boulder, Co Marie K. Shanahan, University of Connecticut - Hartford, Ct Brandon Shulleeta, University of South Carolina - Columbia, Sc Marquita Smith, University of Mississippi - Oxford, Ms Julia Thompson, Arizona State University - Tempe, Az

You can read more about each of these leaders and the Faculty Champions Program on the